2020 Women’s Vote Centennial Initiative Created

The League of Women Voters of the U.S. (LWVUS) and the Sewall- Belmont House & Museum (SBHM), organizations with roots in the 72 year campaign for women’s  voting  rights has announced  the  creation  of  the  2020  Women’s  Vote  Centennial  Initiative   (WVCI), a collaboration commemorating the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19th Amendment  which  added  women’s  right  to  vote  to  the  U.S.  Constitution.

 The WVCI will be led by a steering Committee and a larger task Force, which collectively represent  the  various  segments  of  the  historical  women’s  suffrage  movement,  contemporary women’s  organizations,  and  scholars. The list of members can be found sewallbelmont.org/learn/womens-vote-centennial

 The WVCI Steering Committee honored the convening of this initiative at a public program hosted by the Sewall-Belmont House & Museum and co-sponsored by the League of Women Voters on Wednesday, March 30, 2016.  The  program was entitled  “Women  and  Politics:   Advocacy,  Activism,  and  Influencing  Policy.”

The first project of the WVCI is a logo contest. The Initiative invites individuals and groups to contribute their design skills and creativity to the development of a logo and slogan (slogo) for use by anyone celebrating the 100th anniversary of the 19th Amendment. The contest, which opens March 30th, will accept submissions through June 30th, 2016. A celebrity judge panel will help select  the  winner  in  time  for  an  announcement  on  Women’s  Equality  Day,  August 26, 2016. Details for the Slogo Contest and WVCI activities can be found at sewallbelmont.org/learn/womens-vote-centennial/.

Women’s Vote Centennial Initiative Task Force:

Miriam Bader, New York, Director, Education, Lower East Side Tenement Museum

Lucy Beard*, New Jersey; (Executive Director, Alice Paul Institute)

Robert P.J. Cooney, Jr.*, California
       Author, Winning the Vote: The Triumph of the American Woman Suffrage Movement
       Director, Woman Suffrage Media Project

Roberta Francis*, New Jersey
       Founding Chair, ERA Task Force, National Council of Women’s Organizations

Noemi Ghazala*, New York
       Superintendent, Women’s Rights National Historical Park, Seneca Falls

Lisa Kathleen Graddy*, Washington, D.C.
       Deputy Chair and Curator, Division of Political History
National Museum of American History, Smithsonian Institution

Lis Harper*, Houston
       Digital Consultant, Sewall-Belmont House & Museum

Page Harrington**, Washington, D.C.
       Executive Director, Sewall-Belmont House & Museum

Deborah L. Hughes, New York
       President & CEO, National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House

Jennifer Krafchik*, Washington, D.C.
       Deputy Director and Director of Strategic Initiatives, Sewall-Belmont House & Museum,

Barbara Irvine, New Jersey
       Founding President, Alice Paul Centennial Foundation, Inc.

Ida E. Jones, Ph.D., Maryland
       Archivist, Morgan State University

Marguerite Kearns, New Mexico
       Co-Chair, Inez Milholland Centennial Observance

Ann Lewis*, Maryland
       Co-Chair, President’s Commission on the Celebration of Women in American History, 1998-2000

Elizabeth Maurer, Virginia
       Director of Programs, National Women’s History Museum

Molly Murphy McGregor*, California
       Executive Director and Founder, National Women’s History Project

Denise D. Meringolo, Maryland
       Director of Public History, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Kathleen Pate, Arkansas
       Board Member, Arkansas Women’s History Institute

Sally Roesch Wagner, Ph.D., New York
       Founding Director, The Matilda Joslyn Gage Foundation
Adjunct Faculty, The Renée Crown University Honors Program, Syracuse University

Judith Rosenbaum, Ph.D., Massachusetts
       Executive Director, Jewish Women’s Archive

Jennifer Scott, Illinois
       Jane Addams Hull-House Museum

Nancy Tate**, Washington, D.C.
       Immediate Past Executive Director, League of Women Voters of the United States

Marsha Weinstein, Kentucky
       Co-Founder and Vice President, Elizabeth Cady Stanton Trust
Board Member, National Collaborative for Women’s History Sites
Co-Chair, NCWHS’ National Votes for Women Trail Committee

Sydnee Winston*, Virginia
       Associate Producer, National Programming, WETA-TV

Pat Wirth, Virginia
       Executive Director, Turning Point Suffragist Memorial Association

Jill Zahniser*, Minnesota
       Historian and Co-Author of Alice Paul: Claiming Power (2014)

*   Steering Committee member    **WVCI Co-Chairs

Suffrage CentennialsimagesFollow SuffrageCentennials.com on Facebook page, Twitter, email subscription, and the Quarterly Newsletter. Sign up for email on this web page. Stay up to date with postings, audio podcasts, and videos. Plan for your suffrage centennial event. And don’t forget to pass on women’s suffrage storytelling to the next generation. Suffrage Centennial videos on Vimeo.

Comments Off on 2020 Women’s Vote Centennial Initiative Created

Filed under Blog

Comments are closed.